Lazy Me

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Lazy Learners.”

language

I’ve always wanted to learn many languages.  I dabble and can say a few words in French, Dutch, Taiwanese, Spanish and Sign language. When I travel to a new country, I learn a few simple words,  please, thank-you, adding to the  richness of travel.

Still, I love the idea of being  fluent in  many languages.  I  daydream about travelling the globe and slipping from one language to another effortlessly. I would  know when I’m being  short changed, could  haggle with the best of them, eavesdrop on conversation and know exactly what the  locals think. I could order food in a restaurant  and know what I ordered, omitting the surprise when it arrives.  I can see it in my minds eye and its perfect.

Therein lies the problem.  I studied French in school, for five  years and although I believed that I repeated the phrases perfectly, my teacher would  beg to differ.  It seemed that I never could get it perfect for her.  I’m reluctant to share my knowledge with anyone about the phrases I know for fear of being figuratively back in  French class.  This phobia seems  to have oozed into all  languages.  I’m  happy  to read and write  the words and will spell  them  out  to  people, awkward  for certain, though effective.

Seeing my excuses written down gives me pause.  The best part of getting  older is that I no longer care what other people think about me.  With  this in mind,  I  will take the time to learn another language and have my daydream become  a reality.  May-be  it isn’t too late?

Published by

cherylsmit

Writing and photography are my first and second loves and thanks to technology I have the ability to share with a larger audience, including family and friends. Gone are the days of lugging around photo albums after a trip and of keeping a written journal of the experience that only I would view. The days of the handwritten letters are gone, but blogging provides a chance to share ideas, thoughts and photographs with a few mouse clicks and to receive instant feedback from around the world. It provides an opportunity to research a new place and to see that place through the eyes of a multitude of people each with their own unique way of viewing and experiencing the world. It opens the world wide and allows us a front row seat. Blogging connects us and creates a family of support. It provides an outlet and a chance to perfect the craft of writing and story telling. When I sit in my living room drinking my coffee and see that someone from another part of the world has read my words, and then I read theirs, the world is much smaller and more attainable. We are more alike than different as we share uniquely human experiences. Once I had a dream of becoming a Journalist, but somehow life got in the way. I currently have a fantastic career in healthcare and know that I have made a difference so I have no regrets. Still, I wonder if there is time to explore the road less travelled?

One thought on “Lazy Me”

  1. I took French for six years in school, two in junior high and 4 in high school. I know if I’d had a chance to go to France I could have been fluent, but that never happened and now the language is mostly lost on me. I learned many years later (an epiphany of sorts) that German was my first language (I was adopted in Germany at the age of two), but my mother dissuaded me from learning German. When I searched and found a brother, the language seemed very familiar and came somewhat easily, but I didn’t pursue it. I guess I was lazy, but I choose to think I didn’t have a practical use for it after a while so never gained fluency.

    I hope you find your way to learning any language you wish and expressing yourself confidently!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

