Seasons

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Turn, Turn, Turn.”

SONY DSC

I love spring with its re-birth after a long winter.  We stumble out of our dens, bleary eyed and marvel at the blue sky, first shoots and listen to the sounds of birds, awake after a long winter nap.  Later, we whine about the mud, relentless rain, weeds and mosquitos that munch on our flesh.  We look forward to the lazy days of summer.

SONY DSC

I love summer with trips to lakes, backyard BBQ’s, the casual dressed down affair of plastic cups, cut off shorts and bare feet.  Too soon, we moan about yard work, the oppressive heat, and still more bugs that buzz around our heads as we retreat to our air conditioned homes.  We look forward to the cooler days of fall.

SONY DSC

I love fall with changing colours, breath taking scenery that never fails to awaken the photographer in me.  The cooler weather has chased away the bugs. The shadows long, the air akin to clean and new beginnings.  We preserve summer’s offerings and enjoy crisp apples.  We bargain for fall to stay, though winter creeps ever closer.  We look forward to winter for a chance to relax, read and plan.

SONY DSC

I love winter as we hunker down into our homes, the summer and fall work complete.  We curl up like cats in front of the fireplace and ride out the storm, snug.  We enjoy Christmas preparations, the lights of the season and kindness wraps us all as one.  The snow falls with chunky flakes that land on our lashes and we marvel at the individuality of each snow flake, perfect.  Later, we wonder if it will ever end and bemoan the icy roads, square tires and too much snow to shovel.  We long for the days of spring to begin anew.

Published by

cherylsmit

Writing and photography are my first and second loves and thanks to technology I have the ability to share with a larger audience, including family and friends. Gone are the days of lugging around photo albums after a trip and of keeping a written journal of the experience that only I would view. The days of the handwritten letters are gone, but blogging provides a chance to share ideas, thoughts and photographs with a few mouse clicks and to receive instant feedback from around the world. It provides an opportunity to research a new place and to see that place through the eyes of a multitude of people each with their own unique way of viewing and experiencing the world. It opens the world wide and allows us a front row seat. Blogging connects us and creates a family of support. It provides an outlet and a chance to perfect the craft of writing and story telling. When I sit in my living room drinking my coffee and see that someone from another part of the world has read my words, and then I read theirs, the world is much smaller and more attainable. We are more alike than different as we share uniquely human experiences. Once I had a dream of becoming a Journalist, but somehow life got in the way. I currently have a fantastic career in healthcare and know that I have made a difference so I have no regrets. Still, I wonder if there is time to explore the road less travelled?

2 thoughts on “Seasons”

  1. So very true and well said Cheryl, I love the way you capture each season perfectly, written and photographed! Thank you for sending to me, it gives me inspiration daily.

    Like

Leave a Reply

