Roomba

What is right in the world?  The Roomba.

For those of you that do not know what this is–its a robotic vacuum.  Its been around for awhile and I suspect that the reason that everyone does not own one or three of these gems is because its difficult to believe that this could actually live up to one’s expectations.

Now if you spend some time with my daughters’ and ask what vacuuming around our house was like, they would regale you with stories, some true, others likely have been embellished with time.  At some point in the telling, they would inform you that they were afraid of the vacuum because I was never happy when I used the device.  This last point is true.  I always felt that I was being taken advantage

I have two hairy dogs and two equally hairy cats and it seems as though they spend the better part of every waking moment shedding.  I own a Dyson and while it works well, it requires my input.  I hired a cleaning lady, and initially she did a good job, though this  required my husband and I spending the better part of an evening prior to her arrival tackling the hair in the house.  Later her work was less than stellar so we let her go.  Her parting comments, “there is too much hair.”  She couldn’t keep up either!

I was at Costco and there was the Roomba, the price was reasonable so I loaded it into my cart.  I thought that it was likely a mistake.  On the contrary it has been one of my best decisions.  My daughter’s each own one now and I’ve been busy spreading the word.

The Roomba exceeded my expectations.  It knows not to fall down the stairs, it untangles itself from cords and returns to its mother ship to be charged.  It goes under furniture, moves from hardwood to carpet and then to tile with ease and is on a cleaning schedule that only initially required my input.

Thanks to the Roomba I have the commodity of time on my hands.  Time to read, plan and do anything other than vacuum.  Roomba– it is what is right in the world today.

How many of you knew about this gem?  What else has saved you time?  Please share.

 

 

Published by

cherylsmit

Writing and photography are my first and second loves and thanks to technology I have the ability to share with a larger audience, including family and friends. Gone are the days of lugging around photo albums after a trip and of keeping a written journal of the experience that only I would view. The days of the handwritten letters are gone, but blogging provides a chance to share ideas, thoughts and photographs with a few mouse clicks and to receive instant feedback from around the world. It provides an opportunity to research a new place and to see that place through the eyes of a multitude of people each with their own unique way of viewing and experiencing the world. It opens the world wide and allows us a front row seat. Blogging connects us and creates a family of support. It provides an outlet and a chance to perfect the craft of writing and story telling. When I sit in my living room drinking my coffee and see that someone from another part of the world has read my words, and then I read theirs, the world is much smaller and more attainable. We are more alike than different as we share uniquely human experiences. Once I had a dream of becoming a Journalist, but somehow life got in the way. I currently have a fantastic career in healthcare and know that I have made a difference so I have no regrets. Still, I wonder if there is time to explore the road less travelled?

Leave a Reply

